Poor Man’s Keurig

A small coffee-lover’s miracle recently happened in my life. I love Keurig coffee but their single-cup coffee brewers are too expensive for me. So are most other single-cup makers. I’m at financial critical mass in my retirement. I seriously need to cut down on my spending and am following an airtight budget. The single-cup brewers are also large, and we have a small kitchen with limited counter space. Lastly, most brewers come only in black.

After a lot of shopping around,  I just sighed and figured I’d have to plod through my life without one…drinking boring old ground stuff…the same flavor for months until the container is finally empty.  

I got hooked on Keurig at my church, of all places, which has a big selection of pod flavors and a Keurig brewer in the kitchen. I thought about buying one and reducing my tithe accordingly. After all, the church got me hooked. But the better part of my conscience prevailed.

Enter Procter-Silex, with a single-cup coffee maker for $25.00!! I just couldn’t stop searching, and one day voila! There it was. It’s small and it does the job. I feel almost guilty, finding a single-cup brewer that cheap. Like I’ve outsmarted the gods. And another miracle is that it comes in white, on Target.com. It’s perfect in my kitchen.

My mornings are joyous. Now I go into the kitchen wondering, “What will it be today? Dunkin’ Donuts Dunkin Dark? Green Mountain Southern Pecan? Eight O’Clock Original?” The choices are infinite. And I usually drink only one a day so it doesn’t break the bank. I’m enjoying single-cup coffee just like rich people with big kitchens. And loving it. 

6 thoughts on “Poor Man’s Keurig

  1. Way to manifest! You’re just so powerful!

    FYI – Trader Joe’s has a box of 10 individual cups for $1.99. Comes dressed with cream and sugar. Quite good if you’re in a hurry, or just not in the mood to fix “real” coffee.

    BTW – Pod manufacturers may have solved this by now, but I’ve read that the guy who invented the Keurig, now wishes he hadn’t. Apparently, the plastic pods aren’t biodegradable or recyclable. I hope they’ve figured this out by now.

    Like

  2. When we reach a certain age, we take our thrills where we can get them. Congratulations for finding one that begins your day with such joy, Pat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

